Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

R-MC Hall of Fame Inducts Class of 2012

R-MC Hall of Fame Inducts Class of 2012

Click Here for a Photo Gallery of the Evening!

The Randolph-Macon College Hall of Fame inducted the Class of 2012 on February 11, 2012 at an induction banquet at The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, Virginia.

Eddie Webb ’75 welcomed guests and introduced basketball student-athlete Akeem Holmes ’15 who gave the invocation. .  The 180 dinner guests enjoyed remarks from President Robert R. Lindgren and Athletic Director Jeff Burns ’87.

Bridget Collier Daggett was a standout soccer player from 1983-1986.  She was a four-time First Team All-ODAC player and a three-time ODAC Player of the Year.  She led her team to two ODAC Championships (1983 and 1984), taking home ODAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player honors in 1983.  At the time of her graduation, Daggett was the leading scorer in program history with 120 points on 52 goals and 16 assists.  Her 23 goals in 1985 was a school record at that time.

Keith Gilliam was a standout wide receiver for the football team.  He was a four-year letter winner and named an All-ODAC selection in 1984-85; he was also selected to the All-State team and was an All-American Honorable Mention in 1984.  Gilliam holds the ODAC and R-MC records for most touchdown passes caught in a single season (19) and is second in the ODAC with the most touchdown passes caught during a career (31.)  He also holds the NCAA record with 9 consecutive passes caught for touchdowns.

Wayne Jackson was a strong player and a two-year captain for the R-MCgolf team in 1960 and 1961 and led the team to the Conference Championship.  Since graduation, Jackson has won numerous team championships and  more than 50 individual titles.  He is a two-time winner of the Richmond City Championship, a three-time winner of the Valentine Invitation and a two-time winner in the Kendridge Invitational (1965 and 1968.)  He was the Peninsula Amateur Champion 11 times and named Peninsula Sports Club “Man of the Year” in 1968.

Frank Smollon was a four-year letter winner for the men’s lacrosse program and is the first men’s lacrosse player to be inducted into the R-MC Hall of Fame.  Smollen was named to the ODAC first team his sophomore and senior years and made the second team his freshman and junior years.  He led the ODAC in points his sophomore and junior years.  Smollon finished his career in 1997 as the leading scorer in both R-MC and ODAC history with 267 points and had a school and league record 190 career goals and 77 assists.  Smollon was named to the prestigious North/South All-Star game and ranks in the top 20 all-time in career scoring for NCAA Division III.

Bryan Vacca stands first in R-MC career free-throw percentage at 87.9% and fifth in the R-MC single-season scoring, notching 611 points during the 1982-83 season.  He was named First-Team All-American that year and was the first player to average more than 20 points in a season under Hal Nunnally.  During the 1982-83 season, Vacca shot 51% from the floor and had only 40 turnovers in 22 games.  For his career, Vacca scored 1,318 points, which still ranks top-20 all-time in R-MC history.

To nominate a former athlete or coach for the R-MC Hall of Fame, please click here.

-Yellow Jackets-