Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Field Hockey's May Earns VaSID Nod For Defensive Efforts

Megan May
12 defensive save
#2 in national for DS
4th in ODAC Team defense
VASID All-State Second Team

FERRUM, Va. – Randolph-Macon sophomore Megan May (Hayes, Va. / Gloucester) was selected as a Virginia Sports Information Director's All-State Second Team member in the College Division of the organization's annual awards roundup, announced Wednesday morning. May was one of the top defenders in the country during the 2018 season.

May led the Yellow Jacket defense this season with 12 defensive saves. That mark was good for second-best in the country and best in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference. R-MC's defense as a whole made the fourth-most defensive saves in the country with 20. May also helped anchor a defense that had the fourth-best goals-against-average in the ODAC at 1.74 GAA. That figures is down by nearly half of what R-MC's GAA was in 2017.

The All-State team was led by Christopher Newport's Brittan Muir as the Player of the Year and Shenandoah's Kelsey Jones as Rookie of the Year. Carrie Moura of CNU was named the Coach of the Year.

Major Award Winners
Player of the Year: Brittan Muir, Christopher Newport
Rookie of the Year: Kelsey Jones, Shenandoah
Coach of the Year: Carrie Moura, Christopher Newport
First Team
F – Lauren Hopkins, Mary Washington
F – Jackie Lerro, Lynchburg
F - Nikki Simpao, Lynchburg
MF – Rachel Cooke, Christopher Newport
MF – Kayla Copeman, Lynchburg
MF – Courtney Fiest, Christopher Newport
MF – Taylor Hayes, Shenandoah
D – Courtnie Greene, Christopher Newport
D – Brittan Muir, Christopher Newport
D – Morgan Payne, Shenandoah
GK – Olivia Davis, Christopher Newport
Second Team
F – Lauren Paolano, Washington and Lee
F - Haley Tucker, Washington and Lee
F – Emilee Wooten, Roanoke
MF – Lexie Dixson, Mary Washington
MF – Kelsey Jones, Shenandoah
MF – Sierra Magdaleno, Ferrum
D – Alexis Brown, Lynchburg
D – Megan May, Randolph-Macon
D – Gillian Ross, Mary Washington
D – Kaylin Stenson, Roanoke
GK – Emma Clark, Roanoke