Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Snee, Burdette Earn Top Honors at R-MC Champions Dinner

Snee, Burdette Earn Top Honors at R-MC Champions Dinner

ASHLAND, Va. - Senior Susie Snee of women's lacrosse received the Susan Locke de Nagy Award and football senior Cole Burdette was named the winner of the George P. Compton Award at the 2016-17 Randolph-Macon Athletics Champions Dinner.

The Susan Locke de Nagy Award is presented to a senior female student-athlete in recognition of her outstanding athletic accomplishments, leadership, and sportsmanship. Snee was a four-year starter on the R-MC women's lacrosse team and played in every game during her career. The midfielder was named All-Chesapeake Region Second Team and All-ODAC First Team in 2017 after earning All-ODAC Second Team honors as a junior and All-ODAC Third Team as a sophomore and freshman. Snee was selected ODAC Rookie of the Year in 2014. Snee has 253 draw controls and 92 caused turnovers, both second in program history for career totals. She had 105 goals and 16 assists for 121 points. This past season, Snee was tops on the team and third in the ODAC with 79 draw controls. She was also first on the club and sixth in the league with 24 caused turnovers. Off the field, Snee has worked with Relay for Life from 2013 to present. She was a Higgins Academic Center Mentor from 2014 to present. Snee was a member of R-MC's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) since 2013 and was secretary this past year. Snee will graduate later this month with a degree in Physics with a minor in Mathematics. She was a Presidential Scholar, a member of the Dean's List and a member of the ODAC All-Academic Team. Snee was a member of Pi Mu Epsilon and won the C. Lydon Harrell Freshman Award for Phi Beta Kappa.

The George P. Compton Award is presented to a senior male student-athlete in recognition of his outstanding athletic accomplishments, academic achievements, leadership, and sportsmanship. Burdette was the Lou Wacker Defensive Player of the Year in the ODAC this past fall. The defensive lineman was All-ODAC First Team and VaSID All-State First Team. Burdette anchored the top defense in the conference and one of the best in the nation. He topped the team and was third in the ODAC with 18 tackles for loss (minus-86yards) and 9.5 quarterback sacks (minus-62 yards). Burdette tied for third on the team with 51 total tackles. R-MC was first in the ODAC and eighth in the nation in rush defense, allowing 71.6 yards per game on the ground. The Yellow Jackets were also first in the league and 13th in the country in scoring defense, allowing 14.3 points per contest. Off the field, Cole was a three-year participant in Relay for Life. He volunteered at the Hanover Safe Places Annual Casino Night and as the Dog Rest Stop in Ashland. Cole chopped wood for the First Ministry Baptist Church. He also worked on campus in the office of College Advancement. Academically, Burdette will earn a degree in Business Finance this spring. He has been on the Dean's List multiple times and completed an unpaid internship with Goodwill during J-Term.

Senior Matt Houle of men's soccer received the Robert V. Doggett '57 Award for Athletic and Academic Excellence. Houle posted a grade point average of 4.05 and has been accepted to the George Washington Medical School. The top GPAs per class were also recognized: Greg Beale of baseball for Class of 2018 at 4.01, Maddie Burns of women's soccer for Class of 2019 at 4.08 and Matt Nickles of baseball for Class of 2020 at 4.10.

Earl Johnson '66, the Yellow Jacket Club Board Chair, presented the Wightman Bell to the men's tennis team for 100% giving to the Yellow Jacket Club. Men's tennis tied with men's soccer and won on the tie-breaker, which was higher average gift.

Head football coach Pedro Arruza, the ODAC Coach of the Year, was selected as the Hugh Stephens Coach of the Year, in voting by the R-MC head coaches. The award is named for long-time R-MC baseball coach and athletic director, Hugh Stephens.

The football and volleyball teams were recognized as ODAC championship squads.

Three new awards were presented. The finalists for Performance of the Year were Montese Adams of men's basketball, Alicia Hsieh of women's lacrosse, Sam Mayer of men's lacrosse, Jay Patti of baseball, Erin Quinn of volleyball, Robert Redenz of men's swimming, Emmy Saathoff of women's golf, Kelsey Stanley of field hockey Kirby Struhar of men's golf, Candace Whittemore of softball and Kelly Williams of women's basketball. The Performance of the Year was awarded to Robert Redenz for being named ODAC Male Swimmer of the Year following the ODAC Championships. Redenz won the 100 Breast and 200 Breast, breaking ODAC records in each. He was also second in the 200 IM and a member of three second-place relay teams.

The finalists for Moment of the Year were:

Women's Tennis, for reaching the ODAC championship match for the second consecutive year and finishing with a 17-3 record.

Women's basketball, as Marisha Barry nailed a game-winning three-pointer to beat first-place Lynchburg in overtime in Crenshaw Gym.

Football, for its 48-23 victory at Hampden-Sydney to conclude the regular season and give the Yellow Jackets an ODAC championship.

Volleyball, for its second consecutive ODAC title at home by beating Washington & Lee in Crenshaw Gym in the championship match.

Men's basketball, as Daniel Noe hit a baseline jumper in the final minute to give the Yellow Jackets a 49-47 win over Hampden-Sydney in Crenshaw Gym.

Men's Soccer, as Peter Nelson had a pair of goals, including the game-winner in overtime against Hampden-Sydney on Day Field.

The winner of the Moment of the Year was football's win at Hampden-Sydney to capture the ODAC title.

There were more than 13,000 views of the videos and more than 3,000 votes for the Play of the Year. The finalists for Play of the Year were:

Logan McHugh of men's soccer, for his 40-yard chip over the head of the Emory & Henry goalkeeper.

Kelsey Stanley of field hockey, for her stop of a penalty stroke against Shenandoah.

Maddie Stone of softball, for her diving catch at shortstop against Randolph.

The winner for Play of the Year was Maddie Stone of softball.

Andrew Price '04 served as the Master of Ceremonies. The evening concluded with a salute to the R-MC senior student-athletes. Rachel Wyatt of volleyball led the seniors in the singing of the Alma Mater.