Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Taylor, Noe Earn All-ODAC Honors

Michael Taylor and Daniel Noe
Michael Taylor and Daniel Noe

FOREST, Va. - Randolph-Macon senior Michael Taylor (Apex, N.C./Grace Christian) was named All-ODAC First Team and junior Daniel Noe (Fairfax, Va./Bishop Ireton) was voted All-ODAC Second Team as the conference office released the teams prior to the start of the 2017 ODAC Men's Basketball Tournament.

Taylor, an All-ODAC Third Team selection a season ago, led the Yellow Jackets in scoring with 11.7 points per game. He also topped the team with 41 three-pointers made. Taylor shot 90% from the free throw line, hitting 36 of 40 attempts.

Taylor appeared in all 25 games this season with 20 starts. He has averaged 24.5 points in the past two games and 21.5 points in the past four contest. Taylor has made 14 three-pointers in the past four games, shooting 58.3% from behind the arc over that stretch.

Noe was second on the team in scoring with 10.2 points per game and second in rebounding with 4.6 per contest. He is second on the squad with 29 offensive rebounds, 19 steals and 12 blocks.

This past season, Noe has hit three game-winning shots. He had a career-high 25 in a win at Randolph on Feb. 4.

Under second-year head coach Josh Merkel, the Yellow Jackets are 17-8 overall and 13-3 in the ODAC. R-MC tied with Guilford for first place in the league after sitting sixth in the preseason coaches' poll. The Yellow Jackets are the No. 2 seed in the upcoming ODAC Tournament. R-MC will face seventh-seeded Washington & Lee in the quarterfinals on Thursday, Feb. 23 at 6 p.m. at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va.


All-ODAC First Team

Zack Burnett Sr. G Lynchburg

Malcolm Clark Sr. G Shenandoah

Carson Long So. F Guilford

Khory Moore Sr. G Virginia Wesleyan

Clayton Murtha Jr. F Washington and Lee

Michael Taylor Sr. F Randolph-Macon

All-ODAC Second Team

John Caldwell So. F Roanoke

Andy Kleinlein Sr. G Washington and Lee

C.J. Miles So. G Roanoke

Daniel Noe Jr. F Randolph-Macon

Connor Schroeder So. F Lynchburg

Myles Turner Sr. G Emory & Henry

All-ODAC Third Team

Jake Duncan Sr. G Hampden-Sydney

Ryan Fields Jr. G Randolph

Zachary Houston Sr. G Guilford

Tim Jones Sr. G Virginia Wesleyan

RaShawn Latimer Jr. G Eastern Mennonite

Alston Thompson So. F Guilford

Kurt Axe Memorial Player of the Year: Zack Burnett, Sr., G, Lynchburg

Bob Johnson Coach of the Year: Tom Palombo, Guilford

ODAC Rookie of the Year: Colin Molden, Fr., G, Emory & Henry

ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Zachary Houston, Sr., G., Guilford