Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

R-MC Men's Basketball Joins Elite Schools in Producing D-I Head Coaches

RMC Coaches
RMC Coaches

ASHLAND, Va. - The Randolph-Macon men's basketball program has two former players as head coaches in this year's NCAA Division I Tournament, joining eight Division I programs with the same distinction.

R-MC is the only school to have both its alums earn automatic bids to the NCAA Tournament.

Nathan Davis '97 is in his second season as head coach at Bucknell and led the team to the Patriot League title. The 13th-seeded Bison will face fourth-seeded West Virginia in Buffalo on Thursday, March 16 at 2:45 p.m. Davis was a four-year letterwinner, two-time captain and two-time All-ODAC selection with the Yellow Jackets. He helped R-MC earn a berth in the 1996 NCAA Tournament. Davis was head coach at R-MC for six seasons prior to his stint at Bucknell, taking the Yellow Jackets to six straight NCAA Tournament appearances.

Gregg Marshall '85 is in his 10th season as head coach at Wichita State. He led the Shockers to the Missouri Valley Conference title, their fifth crown under Marshall. The 10th-seeded Shockers will meet seventh-seeded Dayton in Indianapolis on Friday, March 17 at 7:10 p.m. Marshall played four seasons for the Yellow Jackets and helped R-MC reach three NCAA Division II Tournaments. Marshall spent two seasons as an assistant coach at R-MC.

Three other former Yellow Jackets will also be on benches during this year's NCAA Tournament. Former R-MC player and assistant coach Jamal Brunt is an assistant coach at Miami. Former Yellow Jacket assistant coach Jeff Reynolds is Director of Operations at Virginia Tech. Former R-MC assistant coach Joe Meehan is an assistant coach with Nathan Davis at Bucknell.

Programs with two former players as head coaches in this year's NCAA Tournament include:

Duke (Chris Collins at Northwestern, Steve Wojciechowski at Marquette)

George Washington (Mike Brey at Notre Dame, Joe Dooley at Florida Gulf Coast)

Kansas (Danny Manning at Wake Forest, Mark Turgeon at Maryland)

Kansas State (Tim Jankovich at SMU, Brad Underwood at Oklahoma State)

Northern Iowa (Brian Jones at North Dakota, Greg McDermott at Creighton)

Pittsburgh (Sean Miller at Arizona, Ralph Willard at Seton Hall)

Providence (Jim Larranaga at Miami, Richard Pitino at Minnesota)

Randolph-Macon (Nathan Davis at Bucknell, Gregg Marshall at Wichita State)

Xavier (Pat Kelsey at Winthrop, Chris Mack at Xavier)

(thanks to Marty Wilson and Andrew Price for their research on this project)