Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Merkel, Anthony Garner All-District Honors

Josh Merkel in huddle and Buzz Anthony dribbling
Josh Merkel and Buzz Anthony (photos by Geoff Bolte)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Randolph-Macon head coach Josh Merkel had been named Coach of the Year in the South District, and sophomore guard Buzz Anthony (Arnold, Md./Archbishop Spalding) was voted All-District First Team, as the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced the 2019 NABC Coaches' Division III All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division, selected by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division III.

The two-time ODAC Coach of the Year, Merkel led R-MC to a 27-4 mark during the 2018-19 campaign. The four losses were to teams that reached the Elite Eight, with two by one point, and two losses to teams in the Final Four. The Yellow Jackets were one win away from the program mark for victories in a season. R-MC went 15-1 in ODAC play, claiming its third straight regular-season conference crown. The Yellow Jackets hosted and won the first two rounds of the 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Championship before traveling to Amherst, Mass., and falling 58-57 to Swarthmore in the Round of 16.

In four seasons with the Yellow Jackets, Merkel is 75-35 overall, a winning percentage of 68%. R-MC has won 75% of its ODAC games (48-16) and 82% of its home contests (41-9) under Merkel.

The ODAC Player of the Year and one of two Yellow Jackets to start all 31 games this season, Anthony led R-MC with 485 points and 15.6 points per contest. He also topped the team with 157 rebounds, an average of 5.1 per game. Anthony led the ODAC and was seventh in the nation with 120 total assists, an average of 5.8 per outing. Anthony was first in the conference and eighth in the country in assist/turnover ratio at 3.20.

During the 2018-19 season, Anthony led the team in scoring 13 times, was tops in rebounding 10 times, and led the Yellow Jackets in assists 25 times.

Anthony was earlier named to the 2019 Men's All-South Region First Team. He was one of 50 players on the second watch list for the Bevo Francis Award, presented annually to the player with the finest overall season with non-Division I basketball.

The Yellow Jackets were second in the nation in scoring margin (+18.6), fourth in scoring defense (61.8 ppg), fifth in assist/turnover ratio (1.65), fifth in turnovers per game (9.9), seventh in total three-point field goals made (331) and ninth in win-loss percentage (.871).


Coach of the Year: Josh Merkel, Randolph Macon

First Team

Brandon Alexander, Southwestern

Buzz Anthony, Randolph Macon

Will Crumly, Covenant

Elijah Hirsh, Berry

Joe Neal, Concordia (TX)

Dimitrius Underwood, UT Dallas (District Player of the Year)

Second Team

Marcus Curry, Guilford

Josh Freund, Roanoke

Luke Smith, Sewanee

Nate West, LeTourneau

Romin Williams, Emory