Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Volleyball Joins The Continental Volleyball Conference

Volleyballs in bin

ASHLAND, Va. – Randolph-Macon men’s volleyball has received approval to join the Continental Volleyball Conference it was announced on Tuesday. R-MC’s conference membership will begin in the 2018-19 academic year. The CVC is made up of ten other Division III institutions that sponsor men’s volleyball. Randolph-Macon will keep the conference at ten members when current member Thiel College departs after this season.  

“As men’s volleyball is an emerging sport within the NCAA, membership in the CVC provides a great opportunity for our program to play at the very best level in Division III,” said Randolph-Macon athletic director Jeff Burns. “We appreciate the confidence the CVC has in accepting our membership request and look forward to being a valuable partner in growing the sport of men’s volleyball in the region and at the national level. “  

The CVC was formed in 2011 and consisted of ten school spanning the entire country, including Carthage College (Kenosha, Wis.), Eastern Mennonite University (Harrisonburg, Va.), Fontbonne University (St. Louis, Mo.) Juniata College (Huntingdon, Pa.), Milwaukee School of Engineering (Milwaukee, Wis.), the College of Mount Saint Joseph (Cincinnati, Ohio), Philadelphia Biblical University (Langhorne, Pa.) now Cairn University, Stevenson University (Stevenson, Md.), Thiel College (Greenville, Pa.) and the University of California, Santa Cruz (Santa Cruz, Calif.).

In 2015, the conference split, keeping the CVC name with the schools in the eastern half of the country while those to the Midwest and West formed the Midwest Collegiate Volleyball League.

In the 2019 season, the CVC will consist of Cairn University, Eastern Mennonite University, Juniata College, Kean University, Marymount University, Neumann University, Ramapo College, Randolph Macon College, Rutgers University-Newark, and Southern Virginia University.

Randolph-Macon men’s volleyball is currently set to begin play during the 2018-2019 school year. For questions regarding the program, please email [email protected].