Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Hsieh, Wells, Alvanos Receive All-State Honors

Alicia Hsieh, Elicia Wells, Sarah Alvanos

ARLINGTON, Va. - Randolph-Macon senior midfielder Alicia Hsieh (Ellicott City, Md./Centennial) and sophomore goalkeeper Elicia Wells (Richmond, Va./Trinity) were voted to the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) All-State First Team.

Senior defender Sarah Alvanos (New Hartford, N.Y./New Hartford) earned a spot on the VaSID All-State Second Team.

Hsieh was named to the All-Chesapeake Region First Team by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) for the third consecutive year. She was also All-ODAC First Team. Hsieh started all 18 games for R-MC in 2018, leading the ODAC with 61 goals and 74 points. She posted a season-high eight goals in a 19-15 victory over St. Mary's. Hsieh topped the team and was fifth in the conference with 81 draw controls, tied for the third-most in program history. Hsieh netted 255 career goals, the second-highest total in program history and one shy of the school record. Her 74 goals in 2016 ranks second at R-MC for goals in a season. Hsieh amassed 299 career points, the third-highest total in school history. She had 173 career draw controls, tied for the third-highest total for the Yellow Jackets. Hsieh was an All-ODAC performer for each of her four years, including First Team each of the past three seasons.

In her first season with the Yellow Jackets, Wells started all but one game in goal for R-MC and was voted All-ODAC First Team. She collected 168 saves, the second-highest total in the ODAC and one behind the conference leader. Wells recorded a season-best 19 saves against Washington College. She had 15 saves in a 17-13 win at Roanoke and in an 8-6 victory at Lynchburg. Wells had 14 saves in a 16-10 victory over third-seeded Lynchburg in the semifinals of the ODAC Tournament.

Alvanos was All-Chesapeake Region Second Team by the IWLCA and All-ODAC First Team. Alvanos appeared in all 18 games with 17 starts. She led the team and was fifth in the ODAC with 42 ground balls. Alvanos had a season-high nine ground balls in a hard-fought 8-6 win at Lynchburg. Alvanos was first on the Yellow Jackets and seventh in the league in caused turnovers with 25. She had three caused turnovers in victories over New England College, Guilford and Lynchburg.

Under fifth-year head coach MK Geratowski, the Yellow Jackets went 11-7 overall and 7-1 in ODAC play. R-MC reached the title game of the ODAC Championship for the fourth consecutive season. The Yellow Jackets won eight straight prior to their loss in the ODAC finals, matching the program mark for longest win streak. The Class of 2018 recorded 48 victories during its four-year career, tying the classes of 2002 and 2003 as winningest classes in program history.

2018 VaSID Women's Lacrosse College All-State

First Team:

Attack: Jess Castelo, Washington & Lee University

Attack: Sarah Culver, Christopher Newport University

Attack: Elizabeth Peasley, Averett University

Midfielder: Colleen Bourgal, Christopher Newport University

Midfielder: Julia Golden, Christopher Newport University

Midfielder: Alicia Hsieh, Randolph-Macon College

Midfielder: Dorrie MacGregor, Lynchburg College

Defender: Emma Boris, Roanoke College

Defender: Riley Garcia, Washington & Lee University

Defender: Kirsten Littlefield, University of Mary Washington

Goalkeeper: Elicia Wells, Randolph-Macon College

Second Team:

Attack: Julia Albert, University of Mary Washington

Attack: Mackenzie Maguire, University of Mary Washington

Attack: Cordelia Peters, Washington & Lee University

Midfielder: Kristin Gobbi, University of Virginia-Wise

Midfielder: Dani Murray, Washington & Lee University

Midfielder: Alixis Roccia, Averett University

Defender: Sarah Alvanos, Randolph-Macon College

Defender: Jess Apgar, University of Virginia-Wise

Defender: Rachel Henderson, Lynchburg College

Defender: Kayla O'Sullivan, Bridgewater College

Goalkeeper: Melanie Reilly, University of Virginia-Wise

Player of the Year: Kirsten Littlefield, University of Mary Washington

Rookie of the Year: Alyson Bittinger, Shenandoah University

Coach of the Year: Caitlin Moore, University of Mary Washington