Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Two Garner AVCA South Region Honors

AVCA All South Region

LEXINGTON, Ky. – A pair of Randolph-Macon Yellow Jackets were recognized by the American Volleyball Coaches Association Thursday as the All-South Region teams were announced. Women's Volleyball senior Emily Fitzwater (Bealeton, Va./Liberty) and junior Miranda Hall (Mechanicsville, Va./Hanover) received recognition as members of Honorable Mention squads. Both were honored as members of All-ODAC squads this season as well.

For the 2018 season, Hall tallied 324 kills on the season, a 3.12 kills/set clip. She owned a .226 hitting percentage as well. Additionally, she tallied 158 digs and 32 blocks. Hall was honored as a member of the All-ODAC First Team in 2018. She was a member of the AVCA All-South Region squad last season.

Fitzwater will graduate with one of the Top 10 marks in Randolph-Macon history for total blocks. Through the end of the season, she tallied 263 blocks total, placing her ninth in school history. She tallied 86 for two seasons in a row, both 2017-18 and 2018-19. She has hit .360 this season, which was a Top 30 mark in the country and first in the ODAC. She was honored as a member of the All-ODAC Second Team in 2018 and the ODAC All-Tournament team in 2017. This is her first AVCA honor.

Randolph-Macon finished the season 20-11 overall and 11-1 in the ODAC. The team was the runners-up in the ODAC Championship.



Name School Position Year
 Mady Arles  Emory  S  Sr.
 Linsey Bailey  Roanoke  OH  Fr.
 Laura Beier  Berry  L  Fr.
 Lauren Dwyer  Hendrix  OH  Jr.
 Karissa Dzurik  Emory  OH  Sr.
 Rachel Gaston  Bridgewater  OH  Jr.
 Emily Hancock**  Berry  OH  Jr.
 Amber Matalus  Virginia Wesleyan  MB  Jr.
 Jeneva Salter**  Birmingham-Southern  OH  Sr.
 Leah Saunders  Emory  RS  So.
 Elyse Thompson**  Emory  L  Jr.
 Carson VanCampen**  Berry  MB  Jr.
 Allison Webb  Washington & Lee  RS  Jr.
 Victoria Wilson  Bridgewater  S  Sr.


Name School Position Year
 Caroline Corey  Meredith  OH  Jr.
 Elly Cosgrove  Washington & Lee  L  Sr.
 Emily Fitzwater  Randolph-Macon  MB  Sr.
 Miranda Hall  Randolph-Macon  OH  Jr.
 Caroline Johnson  Birmingham-Southern College  L  Jr.
 Ellie Pedersen  Sewanee: The Univ. of the South  MB  Fr.

Region Player of the Year: Mady Arles, Emory, S

Region Freshman of the Year: Laura Beier, Berry, L

Region Coach of the Year: Caitlyn Moriarty, Berry