Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Koch Named All-Region by AVCA

Sydney Koch
Photo by Norman Parker

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Randolph-Macon sophomore Sydney Koch (Raleigh, N.C. / Sanderson) earned an All-South Region selection, it was announced by the American Volleyball Coaches Association Thursday afternoon. Koch recently wrapped up a regular season that earned her All-ODAC First Team honors.

Koch led the Old Dominion Athletic Conference in hitting percentage this season. The sophomore has hit at a .382 clip thus far, collecting 247 kills, which was third most on the team. She's added 99 blocks and 316 points, which was second on the team in both categories.

Randolph-Macon had one of the most efficient offenses in the ODAC this season. The team was second in the conference for points-per-set at 16.2 and third in total kills with 1,508. Defensively, the team was third in both total blocks and digs in the conference this season.

The Yellow Jackets earned a bid into the NCAA Tournament this weekend. R-MC travels to the Newport News Regional, hosted by Christopher Newport. The third-seeded Yellow Jackets will face the sixth-seeded Marymount Saints at 5:30 PM on Friday at the Freeman Center. Tickets cost $8 for adults and $6 for R-MC students, seniors and children 3-12.


Name School Position Year
 Laura Beier**  Berry  L  So.
 Courtney Berry  Washington & Lee  MB  Jr.
 Rachel Gaston**  Bridgewater  OH  Sr.
 Brynne Gould  Washington & Lee  OH  Jr.
 Emily Hancock***  Berry  OH  Sr.
 Sydney Koch  Randolph-Macon  MB  So.
 Tara Martin  Emory  OH  So.
 Amber Matalus**  Virginia Wesleyan  MB  Sr.
 Morgan McKnight**  Emory  OH  Sr.
 Leah Saunders**  Emory  RS  Jr.
 Cassie Srb  Emory  S  Fr.
 Destiny Stewart**  Sewanee  OH  Jr.
 Elyse Thompson***  Emory  L  Sr.
 Carson VanCampen***  Berry  MB  Sr.


Name School Position Year
 Molly Bergin  Berry  RS  Fr.
 Lauren Dwyer  Hendrix  OH  Sr.
 Caroline Gard  Washington & Lee  L  Fr.
 Jordan Leitch  Berry  S  Sr.
 Lilly Reilly  Sewanee  RS  So.
 Amy Tyma  Huntingdon  OH  Jr.

Region Player of the Year: Leah Saunders, Emory, RS, Jr.

Region Freshman of the Year: Cassie Srb, Emory, S

Region Coach of the Year: Jenny McDowell, Emory